silky

November 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

I have been craving some new clothes lately.

I picked up a couple of cute things at the Built by Wendy sale a couple of weekends ago. I cruised by the Steven Alan sample sale yesterday and wasn’t impressed. I’ve got my eye on some items at the Brooklyn APC outlet (as always). But today, my cheap fix arrived!! A lovely bundle from Forever21. They have a bunch of nice 100% silk pieces at the moment that are sweet, fairly well made and exceptionally well priced. I have a few stacks of silk in my closet for some shirts I intend on making whenever Avery gives me an early night. Even the fabric alone for these shirts, cost more than one of the finished F21 pieces. I mean, the quality of silk is much lower, but still…I’m not complaining.

Minton is very kindly helping me model here. I bought this shirt as it’s pretty close to the pattern I drafted up the other day and I wanted to compare and nose a little bit. It was $22.80 and is 100% silk.

Ignoring the horrific creases in this shirt, I love it! I grabbed this one also to take a look at the pattern. I’m in the mood for loose shapeless silk tees and tanks and this one did the trick for me. I can no longer find it on the site, but the pattern IS really simple so you guys should just be able to whip one up! For the record, it was $24.80.

This dress has a distinctive Built by Wendy air to it. In fact, here’s the BBW dress I grabbed at her recent sale.

Of course, the BBW version feels far more luxurious and the shape fits better. The print is also much more unique and less cutesy. I know I’m no model or anything, and the thing needs to be steamed, or at least hung out for a bit, but I swear that F21 number looked way cuter on their site…

As a retoucher who gets paid to make things look better than they really do, I’m amazed every time I get surprised by this.

So there is it. Cute silk stuff for a steal. I’ll be posting pictures of the silk pieces I make when I finally get around to it. Also, as I was digging through the troves of…um…less appealing (?!) stuff on the F21 website to find these items, I came up with the idea of doing a round up of good buys to keep a wardrobe fresh and under budget. (I still need to find a way to afford that $1200 leather jacket I’ve been eying. (Hah!)) So, yes, starting this month I’ll have a 12 FROM 21 on the 21st of each month. I hope it’s useful!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading silky at Little Red Balloon..

meta

